Echuca would have to be one of the most popular river ports along the Murray River. In it's hay day, the port was Victoria's second largest port with the wharf stretching 332metres by 1879.
The length helped it to accommodate up to 200 boats a week supported by a rail link to Melbourne making it a key hub for the Murray River trade.
Towering over the Murray River, the wharf gave room for rising and falling river levels allowing for continuous operation all year round.
In the late 1800s the rail networks were extended taking over parts that the river trade serviced. This saw the decline in the river boat trade and eventually an end to this extremely fascinating river life.
The port today is a preserved historic masterpiece, it displays many buildings from the era including the Star Hotel with its escape tunnel and a new discovery centre to help visitors understand more of the history and its significance in Australian history.
The wharf still preserves its history, though only 256.5metres shorter than its peak period. During World War II, much of the wharf was dismantled for its valuable red gum of which it was built. The red gum was used for firewood in Melbourne.
The now 75.5metre long wharf is still a hive of action with many paddle steamers still operating from it with the tourist trade and private operations.